Flex Builder Hidden Gem!

Posted: April 9, 2008 in Flex, MDCFUG, Presentations

HELLO WORLD,

Last night I had the pleasure of attending a presentation given by Daniel Daugherty at the MDCFUG. He spoke on the dangers of Copying and Pasting within your code to achieve re-usability. It was a very informative talk but what really stood out for me was something that has little to do with copying and pasting. He showed us a little known feature in Eclipse (and thus present in Flex Builder) – the Local History Panel.

I was blown away when I discovered that Eclipse (out of the virtual box) contains a feature that saves versions of the files you save. You can access those versions and even perform a Diff on them. This is by no means a replacement for SVN or some other version control system but it certainly does help in those times when you don’t have a version control system configured in your environment … sort of a poor man’s version control.

So for those of you who have never heard of this feature, here are a few screen shots that show you how to access the Local History panel and its features.

I give props to Daniel for pointing this out at the MDCFUG user group last night.

<EndPost />

Comments
  1. Thanks for blogging about the history panel. The more I use the eclipse framework the more I love working with it than with dreamweaver. I am continually learning more and more everyday about this framework. 🙂

  2. therush says:

    Hi,

    You’re welcome and thank you for commenting. I think it’s about time I develop a presentation/tutorial on using Flex Builder/Eclipse and some of its hidden gems … and plug-ins.

    I personally use Flex Builder and Dreamweaver as my development IDE tools. I would convert completely to Flex Builder if I could find a plug-in that supports CSS (on web pages) as well as Dreamweaver.

  3. Alfio Raymond says:

    Check out Aptana. I really like using it and they have pretty good turn around with updates for adobe air plugins.

  4. Eulalia says:

    You share interesting things here. I think that your page
    can go viral easily, but you must give it initial
    boost and i know how to do it, just search in google (with
    quotes) for – “mundillo traffic increase”

Leave a Reply

