New Flex Books Alert!

Posted: May 25, 2007 in Adobe, Flex

Hello World,

Within the past month two new Flex books were released; Programming Flex 2 and Professional Adobe Flex 2 .

I ordered and picked up the Programming Flex 2 book from my local Borders Books a few weeks back. I’ve been carrying it with me wherever I go. I have since read through the entire book and then some. I found it to be an excellent foundational book on Flex 2 programming. They went into topics that some of the other books just didn’t cover such as Skinning and Debugging. The book even covers the Runtime CSS that was released with version 2.01. My only complaint about the book is that I still am unable to find the source code for the examples in the book. Hey Chafic and Joey, if you’re reading this where can I find the download for the book’s examples?

The next book, Professional Adobe Flex 2, I just picked up this morning from my local Barnes and Noble. I haven’t had time to read through it but after scanning through the book I was very impressed. This book seems to be really for the Flex 2 professional. Again I saw topics covered in this book that wasn’t found in any of the other books such as Flex Printing, Advance Charting, and Using the Cairngorm Framework. I can’t wait until I get a chance to dive into this one.

I have a habit of judging the publics acceptance of a new technology by the number of books I can find about the technology in the bookstore. Whenever I visit the local bookstores (about twice a week) I always look in the Computers section to see what new technology books are out, which technology books are still on the shelves, which one are no longer being carried by the bookstore, and how up-to-date the books are. I’m glad to say that I can still find a bookstore that carries up-to-date books on Flex 2, ColdFusion 7, and Flash (I saw the first Flash CS3 book on the shelve).

Call me ol’ skool (or a geek) but I like to have professionally bound, soft cover copy of a book in my hand when I want to read. So guys, keep writing and putting out those books and I’ll keep buying them. I just plant a couple of trees for book I buy.

</post>

Comments
  1. chafickazoun says:

    Thanks for the kind words on the book, we’ve been surprised by how well the book has been doing. Flex is really taking off!

    Here is a direct link to the source code http://examples.oreilly.com/9780596526894/

  2. therush says:

    Thanks chafic. That’s really going to save a lot of typing.

Leave a Reply

