Another book on the shelf

Posted: November 15, 2006 in Flex

On one of my weekly visits to the bookstore I found copies of Adobe Flex 2:Training from the source and The ActionScript 3.0 Cookbook. I immediatly picked up the latter since I’ve already purchased the former (see my previous blog).
The book is fantastic especially the chapter on the DisplayList. I’ve spent the past 6 years designing and developing in the Flash environment. It took me a while to grasp the concept of timelines and movieclips (damn it Jim, I’m a developer not a designer). However it was useful when creating application that featured time-based animation. When I moved from Flash into Flex (not 100%) I thought that I lost that capability. Now, after reading through a couple of chapters in the ActionScript 3.0 book, I see that I don’t have to give up that part of me (the designer – yeah, I’m bipolar like that).

Leave a Reply

