Flex Builder 2 on the Mac … Walk into the Light!

Posted: October 26, 2006 in Flex, Uncategorized

Although I was unable to attend Adobe Max 2006 (I may regret it some time) I can be there in spirit … OK, what I really mean is that I can experience the event through the various blogs of those who did attend.

First and foremost, the most exciting bit of news was the release of Flex Builder 2 Beta for the Mac. Go ahead … pinch yourself, you’re not dreaming. Adobe announced its availability at the Oct. 25th keynote. Click here to download the Beta. I spent a few hours last night transferring a few of my Flex applications from the PC to the Mac with no (zero, zip, nada …) issues. Although I don’t own an Intel Mac I found this version of Flex Builder to be surprisingly fast.

Another notable release from Adobe is the Digital Editions eBook reader. This stand-alone application just may be peek into the next generation of internet-enabled desktop applications. The (windows only) application is only a lean and fast 2.5 MB download away. Ok I know, eBook readers are nothing new. The only reason I paid any attention to this beta was because of my interest in the technology being used – Apollo??? Makes you wanna go hummm.

Speaking of Apollo … ZDNet has a wonderful article about Adobe’s investment in Apollo. As one wise man said, “the more things change, the more they stay the same.” I spent about 10 years developing client/server desktop application using PowerBuilder. After Sybase bought PowerSoft I transitioned to RIA development using ColdFusion and Flash. Now with the release of Apollo on the horizon I can see my software development career coming full circle. So, yes, I am very excited and looking forward to the release of Apollo. My development tool-set will finally be complete with the release of Apollo.

Comments

Leave a Reply

