New Flex 2 Book – A gem of a find!

Posted: March 13, 2007 in Flex

Hello World,

The Essential Guide to Flex 2 with ActionScript 3.0

I go to the bookstore often, always looking for what’s new and what’s up. Barnes and Noble and Borders are my two favorites (after all they are the two largest). As I was browsing the technical bookshelves at Borders I stumbled upon a “gem of a find” … new Flex 2 book! The book read The Essential Guide to Flex 2 with ActionScript 3.0 and like a miner who just found a nugget of gold I immediately grabbed it, looked around to see if anyone was looking, and claimed it as mine. Ok it was a bit extreme but it was the only one on the shelf.

I scanned through the book enough to find that it is geared towards beginner to intermediate Flex 2 developers. As a Flex 2 developer I found it to be below my current skill level. However as a teacher I found that it may be useful as a resource for my upcoming Flex 2 classes. Needless to say, I bought it and it now sits on my desk like a 3-course meal waiting to be devoured.

If you’re interested in finding the book, you can look for it at your local Barnes and Noble or Borders Books. You can also get more information about the book online at the Friends of Ed site. On this site you can view a sample chapter and the book’s contents. The $49 price tag is a little steep but worth it if you, like me, prefer the feel to cold, hard pages. However you may prefer to save a few trees (the snowboarder in me thanks you) and purchase the eBook for $25.

</post>

Comments
  1. Bruce says:

    I was thinking of getting this book, until I read several bad reviews from people who bought it on amazon.com. The reviewers stated that the code examples did not work.

    Have you worked through the code examples yet? Found any problems.

  2. therush says:

    No, I haven’t had a chance to go through the code in the book. I’ve been on Apollo watch the entire weekend. I’ll get to it this weekend and let you know.

    Theo

  3. Charles E. Brown says:

    Theo:

    Thanks for the kind words on the book.

    We had a couple of minor issues pop up in the beginning, but they are mostly addressed in the errata now.

    Anyone needs any help, please feel free to email me.

    Many thanks,
    Charles

  4. […] Original post by therush […]

  5. Stasigr says:

    Hello, very nice site, keep up good job!
    Admin good, very good.

Leave a Reply

